Entries for the 2018 Gregory Bateson Book Prize

The Gregory Bateson Book Prize is awarded by the Society for Cultural Anthropology (SCA), one of the largest sections of the American Anthropological Association. Named after distinguished anthropologist, semiotician, cyberneticist, and photographer Gregory Bateson, the award reflects the SCA’s mandate to promote theoretically rich, ethnographically grounded research that engages the most current thinking across the arts and sciences. Welcoming a wide range of styles and argument, the Gregory Bateson Prize looks to single out work that is interdisciplinary, experimental, and innovative. The prize is awarded each year at the annual meeting of the American Anthropological Association and carries an honorarium of $500.

The SCA asks any presses wishing to submit books to select those published in 2017 that they see as most relevant for consideration. All books must have a copyright date of 2017, and edited volumes will not be considered. The deadline for receipt of submissions is May 4, 2018. To submit an entry, publishers are invited to send one physical copy of the book to each of the four Prize Committee members (below). Inquiries should be directed to Bateson Prize Chair John Collins at john.collins@qc.cuny.edu.

Please send entries to:

John Collins
Department of Anthropology
Queens College, City University of New York
Powdermaker Hall 314
65-30 Kissena Blvd.
Flushing, NY 11367-1597

Aimee Cox
515 Madison Street, #1
Brooklyn, NY 11221

Susan Lepselter
Department of Anthropology
Indiana University
Student Building 130
701 E. Kirkwood Avenue
Bloomington, IN 47405-7100

Sharad Chari
Department of Geography
University of California, Berkeley
505 McCone Hall #4740
Berkeley, CA 94720-4740