Submissions for 2014 Gregory Bateson Book Prize due May 15

The Bateson Book Award is awarded by the Society for Cultural Anthropology (SCA), the largest section of the American Anthropological Association. The Bateson Award reflects the SCA’s mandate to promote theoretically rich, ethnographically grounded research. In particular the society prioritizes works with deep interdisciplinary engagements with other fields such as art, media, history, literary theory, political theory, and religion. Named after the famed anthropologist, semiotician, cyberneticist, and photographer, Gregory Bateson (1904–1980), the award honors research that stands in this innovative, diverse tradition.

The SCA requests presses that wish to submit books published in 2013 for the Bateson Prize to select those they see as most relevant for consideration. The deadline of receipt for submissions is May 15, 2014. To submit an entry, publishers are invited to send one copy of the book directly to each of four Bateson Committee members:

  • John Hartigan, Anthropology, University of Texas
  • Jackie Orr, Maxwell School, Syracuse University
  • Andrew Barry, Geography, Univeristy College London
  • Molly Mullin, Anthropology, North Carolina State University

For mailing address and other inquiries, please contact John Hartigan at