Submissions for the 2016 Gregory Bateson Book Prize

The Gregory Bateson Book Prize is awarded by the Society for Cultural Anthropology (SCA), the largest section of the American Anthropological Association. The Bateson Prize reflects the SCA’s mandate to promote theoretically rich, ethnographically grounded research. In particular, the society prioritizes works with deep interdisciplinary engagements with other fields such as art, media, history, literary theory, political theory, and religion. Named after the famed anthropologist, semiotician, cyberneticist, and photographer, Gregory Bateson (1904–1980), the award honors research that stands in this innovative, diverse tradition.

The SCA asks any presses that wish to submit books published in 2015 to be considered for the Bateson Prize to select those they see as most relevant for consideration. The deadline of receipt for submissions is May 15, 2016. To submit an entry, publishers are invited to send one copy of the book to each of the four Prize Committee members (below). Inquiries should be directed to Ana María Ochoa Gautier at

Please send books to:

Ana María Ochoa Gautier
Department of Music
Columbia University
2960 Broadway
621 Dodge Hall
New York, NY 10027

Nadia Abu El-Haj
Department of Anthropology
Columbia University
3009 Broadway
New York, NY 10027

Don Brenneis
216 Everett Avenue
Palo Alto, CA 94301

Eduardo Kohn
McGill University
Department of Anthropology
Room 718, Leacock Building
855 Sherbrooke Street
West Montreal, QC H3A 2T7