About the Journal

Cultural Anthropology (print ISSN 0886-7356; online ISSN 1548-1360) is the peer-reviewed journal of the Society for Cultural Anthropology, a section of the American Anthropological Association. Established in 1986, the journal publishes four issues per year and is widely abstracted and indexed. The 2015 Journal Citation Reports published by Thomson Reuters ranked Cultural Anthropology 9/84 among indexed anthropology journals, with an impact factor of 2.324.

Aims and Scope

Cultural Anthropology publishes ethnographic writing informed by a wide array of theoretical perspectives, innovative in form and content, and focused on both traditional and emerging topics. It also welcomes essays concerned with theoretical issues, with ethnographic methods and research design in historical perspective, and with ways cultural analysis can address broader public audiences and interests.

Open Access

In 2014, Cultural Anthropology went open-access, which means that all journal content published since 2014 is freely available on the Cultural Anthropology website immediately upon publication. Users are permitted to download, save, reproduce, and transmit journal content for noncommercial, scholarly, and educational purposes. Reproduction and transmission of journal content for the above purposes should credit the author and original source. Use, reproduction, or distribution of journal content for commercial purposes requires additional permissions from the American Anthropological Association.

The agreement struck between the American Anthropological Association and its current publishing partner, Wiley-Blackwell, allows for Cultural Anthropology to make all journal content published between 2004 and 2013 freely available under the same terms. The journal is in the process of publishing these back issues to the Cultural Anthropology website.

Contact Us

The editorial office can be reached at ea@culanth.org or

Dominic Boyer, James Faubion, and Cymene Howe
Rice University
P.O. Box 1892
Houston TX 77251-1892

Editorial Officers and Board Members (2015–2018)

Editorial Staff

Dominic Boyer
James Faubion
Cymene Howe
Marcel LaFlamme
Managing Editor
Jessica Lockrem
Editorial Assistant
Susan MacDougall
Digital Content Editor
Ellie Vainker
Digital Content Editor
Nathanael Vlachos
Digital Content Editor
Dave Katten
Web Developer
Vani Subramanian
Cover Designer

Editorial Board

Jafari Sinclaire Allen
Yale University
Roger Bartra
Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México
Tom Boellstorff
University of California, Irvine
Marisol de la Cadena
University of California, Davis
Teresa Caldeira
University of California, Berkeley
Jean Comaroff
Harvard University
Veena Das
Johns Hopkins University
Joseph Dumit
University of California, Davis
Julia Elyachar
University of California, Irvine
Judith Farquhar
University of Chicago
Didier Fassin
École des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales and Institute for Advanced Study
Michael M. J. Fischer
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Sarah Franklin
Cambridge University
Faye Ginsburg
New York University
Bruce Grant
New York University
Akhil Gupta
University of California, Los Angeles
Jack Halberstam
University of Southern California
Abdellah Hammoudi
Princeton University
John Hartigan
University of Texas, Austin
John L. Jackson, Jr.
University of Pennsylvania
Webb Keane
University of Michigan
Christopher Kelty
University of California, Los Angeles
Michael Lambek
University of Toronto
Claudio Lomnitz
Columbia University
Tanya Luhrmann
Stanford University
George E. Marcus
University of California, Irvine
Emily Martin
New York University
William Mazzarella
University of Chicago
Francesca Merlan
Australian National University
Hiro Miyazaki
Cornell University
Chandra Talpade Mohanty
Syracuse University
Diane Nelson
Duke University
Francis Nyamnjoh
University of Cape Town
Vinh Kim Nguyen
University of Amsterdam and Université de Montréal
Aihwa Ong
University of California, Berkeley
Anand Pandian
Johns Hopkins University
Adriana Petryna
University of Pennsylvania
Elizabeth Povinelli
Columbia University
Paul Rabinow
University of California, Berkeley
Hugh Raffles
The New School
Christina Schwenkel
University of California, Riverside
Natasha Dow Schüll
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Ann Stoler
The New School
Anna Tsing
University of California, Santa Cruz
David Valentine
University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Helena Wulff
Stockholm University


Cultural Anthropology journal content is archived with both CLOCKSS and Portico.

Submission Guidelines

If you are interested in submitting a manuscript to Cultural Anthropology, please consult our For Authors page.


There are no advertising opportunities with Cultural Anthropology at this time.