Ana-Maurine Lara Awarded the 2021 Gregory Bateson Book Prize

It is with great pleasure that the Society for Cultural Anthropology announces the Gregory Bateson Book Prize winners for this year.

2021 Gregory Bateson Book Prize Winner

Ana-Maurine Lara for Queer Freedom: Black Sovereignty (SUNY Press)


Laurence Ralph for The Torture Letters: Reckoning with Police Violence (University of Chicago Press)

Honorable Mention

Alex Blanchette for Porkopolis: American Animality, Standardized Life, and the Factory Farm (Duke University Press)


We thank the selection committee: Sareeta Amrute, Shaka McGlotten, and Alan Klima.